Louie elected OIB chief for 17th time

It’s no surprise to anyone that Clarence Louie was re-elected as chief of the Osoyoos Indian Band.

The recent election saw Louie secure 199 votes, compared to Sandra Falkus with 43, Clifford Louie with 17 and Za Za Hall with 16.

“Being voted in as chief for the 17th time is something I don’t take for granted,” Clarence said. “I realize politics is very emotional and divisive.”

He added that no one, including him, is supported or has the confidence of everyone. “But once an election is over the chief and council has the duty and responsibility to work together in the best interests of the Osoyoos Indian Band.”

Winning the five councillor seats were Veronica McGinnis (176), Sammy Jo Louie (161), Leona Baptiste (150), Nathan McGinnis (125) and Justin Hall (121).

Sonya Jensen was edged out with 118 votes, while Tony Baptiste and Theresa Gabriel finished with 107 votes each.

Ramona (Bent) Louie secured 85 votes, followed by Jeddy Baptiste (49), Jason Baptiste (48) and Jacob Joseph Kruger (37).

All News