The British Columbia Wine Institute welcomes new Board of Directors and awards industry leaders

Following another successful Annual General Meeting (July 05, 2016 at Manteo Resort, Kelowna), the BC Wine Institute (BCWI) is pleased to announce its new Board of Directors.

Nine voting BCWI Directors represent British Columbia wineries of all sizes, including large wineries (selling more than 700,000 litres annually), medium wineries (selling more than 60,000 litres annually), and the many small wineries. Newly elected or re-elected members of the Board of Directors are:

  • David Wilson from Mission Hill Family Estate Winery
  • Leo Gebert from St. Hubertus & Oak Bay Estate Winery
  • Robert Heiss from Gray Monk Estate Winery
  • Anthony Holler from Poplar Grove Winery

Continuing their terms on the Board are Greg Berti (Andrew Peller), Ezra Cipes (Summerhill Pyramid Winery), Erik Fisher (Monte Creek Ranch Winery), Christa-Lee McWatters Bond (Evolve Cellars) and Josie Tyabji (Constellation Brands). BCWI President/CEO Miles Prodan remains on the Board as an ex officio non-voting member. A new BC Grapegrowers’ Association representative and a Director from outside the BC Wine Industry will be appointed as additional ex officio non-voting Board members in the coming weeks.

“We appreciate the time commitment and dedication of our volunteer Board of Directors and committee members for the Wines of British Columbia and our industry,” notes BC Wine Institute President Miles Prodan. “We look forward to working with our new and continuing Board members to evolve the BC Wine Industry and take the vision of our member wineries to the next level.”

The BCWI would like to thank outgoing Director and Chair Shaun Everest for his dedication and direction to both the BC Wine Institute and the BC Wine Industry. Christa-Lee McWatters Bond has assumed the role of Chair.

The BCWI would also like to thank outgoing Directors Christina Ferreira (Squeezed Wines), Duncan McCowan (Hillside Winery), Charlie Baessler (BC Grapegrowers’ Association) and Douglas Friend (independent) for their contributions to the Board during their terms.
In the evening, the BCWI welcomed the Canadian Vintners Association (CVA) to co-host a reception and awards dinner. BCWI Chair Christa-Lee McWatters Bond was honoured to present John Schreiner, BC’s most prolific wine writer and authority on BC Wines, with the 2016 BCWI Industry Recognition Award in gratitude of his many years of outstanding contribution to the British Columbia Wine Industry. The 2016 BCWI Award of Distinction was awarded to Tony Stewart, CEO of Quails’ Gate Winery, in recognition of his outstanding leadership, commitment and passion for the advancement of the British Columbia Wine Industry. “It’s not the differences that define us, it’s the common goals that unite us,” said Stewart during his acceptance speech.

Canadian Vintners Association Chair Tony Stewart presented the 2016 CVA Award of Distinction to Donald Triggs, owner of Culmina Estate Winery in Oliver, for his years of contribution to the national industry. The CVA Wine Industry Champion Award was presented to Shirley-Ann George, founder and President of Alliance of Canadian Wine Consumers (ACWC) and the FreeMyGrapes initiative.

The BCWI represents all wineries in British Columbia to grow the premium market share for the Wines of British Columbia, and continues to play a pivotal role in making BC’s wine industry an internationally recognized niche region producing world-class wines and tourism experiences. The Total Provincial Wine Market Share in BC (litres) this year averaged an all-time high of 16.5%, for a total growth of 12% over the previous year.

All News